Interfraternity Council

The Interfraternity Council was established at Appalachian State University in 1973 as the governing body of the men's social fraternities. The IFC currently recognizes 14 fraternities on the AppState campus, and is comprised of ten executive members and two delegates from each chapter. Even though each fraternity is unique, the IFC helps to unify the individual chapters to make the fraternity community stronger. The IFC promotes scholarship, community service, social development, public relations, personal development, risk management, and cooperation among the men's organizations. Recruitment of new members begins with recruitment during the first few weeks of each semester. Be sure to follow the Interfraternity Council Instagram page @AppstateIFC to stay up to date on all fraternity events.

Interfraternity Council Executive Officers

IMG 4847 copy

Hunter Koch


IMG 4863

Vice President of Risk Management
Kyle Kremer

IMG 4852

Vice President of Administration and Finance
Vince Williams

IMG 4856

Vice President of Recruitment
Kobe Billington


IMG 4855 copy

Vice President of Communications
Kincade Stalun

IMG 4850

Vice President of Community Relations
Ben Kreger

IMG 4866

Vice President of Programming
Antonio Cabral


IMG 4849

Vice President of Scholarship and Academics
Jake Lovingood

IMG 4854 copy

Vice President of New Member Services
Alex Hales




Assistant Director of Campus Activities

Shaleeah Smith:

Fraternity & Sorority Life 

Graduate Assistant of Campus Activities

Lexi Snoke:  

Fraternity & Sorority Life

University Statement On New NIC Affiliated Organizations & Non-Affiliated Organizations

Organizations who wish to apply for expansion here at Appalachian State must strictly adhere to the Fraternity and Sorority Life Expansion and Re-expansion Policy outlined below. Failure to follow the policy will result in the said organization to be removed from consideration. Organizations that have not been given the approval to expand may reapply one year from the previous ruling. 

Recognized Interfraternity Association Fraternities

Fraternities help to complement a student's education process by providing opportunities for leadership, social interaction, brotherhood, and academic growth. Fraternities are also an important part of the University, and often provide the campus with leaders in many areas.

Kappa Alpha Alpha Epsilon Pi Alpha Sigma Phi
Alpha Tau Omega Kappa Sigma Sigma Nu
Beta Theta Pi Phi Gamma Delta Theta Chi
Delta Sigma Phi Lambda Chi Alpha Sigma Alpha Epsilon
Delta Tau Delta Phi Sigma Kappa  

Organizations currently under sanctions with the University and/or National Office:



Date of violation

Result and/or sanctions

Date of sanctions

Expected completion date

Lambda Chi Alpha Unregistered party and violation of North Carolina Gov. Roy Cooper’s executive orders on the maximum capacity for gatherings due to COVID-19 February 3, 2021 Lambda Chi Alpha National Fraternity placed the chapter under the following Compliance sanctions: Accountability Terms and social restriction.  Terms Review.  Outcome Review.  Goal Set & Review.  Accountability System.  Chapter Culture Audit. Completion of ATLAS requirements.  The University supports these sanctions.  March 5, 2021 August 1, 2021
Theta Chi Unregistered party and violation of North Carolina Gov. Roy Cooper’s executive orders on the maximum capacity for gatherings due to COVID-19 February 5, 2021

Accepted an Informal Resolution of Organizational Probation on March 11, 2021.  Sanctions: Social Restriction.  Health and Safety Education. Creation of chapter redevelopment plan. Bylaw review and revision.  Theta Chi nationals visits.  ATLAS training and review.

March 15, 2021 August 31, 2021

The Following Organizations are no longer recognized by the University:

  • Pi Kappa Alpha - Removal of Recognition in 2013 due to social misconduct and hazing.
  • Tau Kappa Epsilon - Organizational Suspension originally issued has now been changed to the removal of recognition due to concerns about a persistent pattern of concerning conduct during their suspension period. The chapter may petition to return as an expansion chapter in 2023.
  • Pi Kappa Phi - Charter revoked by national office in 2019 due to national policy and university policy violations.
  • Delta Chi - University Recognition revoked in 2021 due to university policy violations.  The chapter may petition to return to 2025.