The National Pan-Hellenic Council

The National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) was established at Howard University in 1930 with the purpose of serving as the national coordinating body for the nine historically African-American sororities and fraternities. NPHC is comprised of 1.5 million members and is one of the largest black international organizations in the world. The objective of the Appalachian State University NPHC is the unanimity of thought and action as far as possible in the conduct of the African American Greek letter collegiate fraternities and sororities, and to consider problems of mutual interest to its member organizations.

The purpose of NPHC is to provide service-oriented activities for the surrounding communities and the campus community,respectively; to serve as a liaison between member organizations and the University Administration; and to preside over disputes between member organizations. The member organizations of the NPHC conduct membership intake in the fall and spring semesters. Students must have an established grade point average to be elidgible for membership.

To contact the National Pan-Hellenic Council, email them

2019 National Pan-Hellenic Council Executive Officers

Kenedy Singletary
Executive Vice President
Dominique Hill
Kris Cooper
Vice President of Programming
Catherine Moore
Vice President of Administration and Finance
Chris Willis
Vice President of Community Relations
Kaylee Stowe
Vice President of Communication
Tatyanna Smith
Antonio Austin

Recognized National Pan-Hellenic Council Organizations

The National Pan-Hellenic Council helps complement its member organizations education process by providing opportunities for leadership, social interaction, brotherhood, sisterhood, and academic growth. The National Pan-Hellenic Council members are also an important part of the University, and often provide the campus with leaders in many areas.

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.
Pi Nu Chapter
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
Omicron Kappa Chapter
Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.
Mu Upsilon Chapter
Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.
Psi Mu Chapter
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
Rho Theta Chapter
Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.
Alpha Alpha Rho
Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.
Mu Omicron Chapter

Organizations currently under sanctions with the University and/or their National Organization: